WS#2 Trust Your Trainer/Trust The Process

This next strategy is probably the second most important strategy to implement after you Decide to Commit to Do something about your health and life.

And, if you are anything at all like me, trusting someone else is no small feat. In fact, often, trusting my trainer and this whole process is more of an active choice to do what he says and know that at the end of the day, he is committed to me reaching my goal and every decision he makes in regards to my training and nutrition is made FOR my benefit, to help me and not to harm me.

So what does it look like to trust your trainer in practical ways?

I don’t know what it looks like for you, but for me it is a variety of things. Some days I am quite peaceful and confident in my trust of my trainer. Other days, I am filled with turmoil as I struggle to rest in the knowledge that he knows what he is doing.  Regardless of how I feel, I have to still make choices in my eating and training that reflect what it is I am after. I need to choose to follow the plan, even when I am filled with doubt and fear and worry. 

When I am trusting my trainer and the process I feel ok no matter what the results that week.  I feel less crazy and far more peaceful.

When I am not trusting him or the process I am filled with anxiety and am more likely to eat off plan.

The reality is that  trust yields results.  A lack of trust produces mediocrity, at best.  Which do you want?

Everyday, I wake up and I recommit to trust my process and my trainer.  I am not perfect tho and fail at times.  I fall down and I scramble to pop right back up and trust again.

One day, I hope that trust will become easier for me and more natural.  Until that day comes I will fake it til I make it and fail my way to trust and success.

Trusting your trainer is the best way to get the results.  Commit 100% to the process even when it doesn’t make sense.  Because let’s face it, our ways/knowledge have not gotten us where we want to be and we have hired them to get us somewhere.  They have knowledge we don’t.   It does no good to yank and pull away from their guiding hand like a 2 yr old who doesn’t want to hold mom’s hand as they cross a busy street!

One thought on “WS#2 Trust Your Trainer/Trust The Process

Leave a Reply

