One Brave Thing

As I traveled in New York City the last few days, I realized that I was doing quite a few things that I was afraid of.  I also noticed that some of those things I didn’t realize I was afraid of until I was doing them.  Finally, I noticed that most of the time I am afraid, no one else knows.

I went up into the Empire State Building and forced myself to go to an edge where I could look straight down, at least once.

I walked across the Brooklyn Bridge by myself.

I rode in a roller coaster for the first time in 18 years, terrified I wouldn’t fit and when I did (barely, or not really) then it became the ridiculous speeds and height that got me.

I got lost in the NY Subway System and had a grand day exploring everything and nothing, by myself.

I got on the scale the day after vacation ended.

That is just a few of the things I did that left me feeling brave and I LIKED the feeling of bravery.

My Road to Beautiful is less about physical beauty than one would assume, especially given that my primary topic has been weight loss. In fact, I think that one of the great characteristics of so many truly Beautiful women I know, is bravery.  Courage. They stand in the face of fear with defiance in their eyes, declaring that Fear will not dictate their life.  They go on grand adventures I only dream about.  They take great risks and enjoy even greater rewards.  They are impacting their worlds in such beautiful ways that it can’t help but be transformed into something new.  They themselves are always being transformed.

That is how I want to be.   I want to be Beautiful like THAT!

And really, who am I not to be?  Who are YOU not to be?

This is what I know.  The past 5 days, I felt powerful and strong and brave as I faced a few fears and did things anyway. As my confidence grew, I think my natural Beauty was given an opportunity to shine.  I think that every girl should get to experience that feeling of brave beauty.  Every day.  I also like to think that the more we experience that feeling of bravery the more courageous we become and one day perhaps our description of ourselves will not be,”Hi, my name is Kim and I am afraid”, but rather, “Hi, My name is Kim.  I am a brave and beautiful woman!”

So, I have decided.  Every day I am going to do One Brave Thing.  Sometimes they will be Big Scary things like walking across a high bridge and other days my bravery might seem as simple as following my nutrition plan.  It might be having a conversation I don’t want to have or going somewhere I have never been.  It might be as simple as engaging a stranger in conversation and made more scary by offering to pray for them or giving up more of “me” time for the sake of others.  I will not measure my bravery like I measure my food intake, it will simply be a brave thing.

I leave you with a challenge and a quote.

Challenge:  What Brave thing will you do today?

Quote, by Marianne Williamson”

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

 

3 thoughts on “One Brave Thing

  1. Kim you nailed it in beautiful and compelling words. Bravery is key and in fact I have an article I am writing for a magazine about my journey and guess what – this is a theme. I am excited to join you in the endeavor “One Brave Thing” and thank you for your blog. Glad you had a great vacation!

Leave a Reply

