God Heals!

In the last couple of months I have had a couple of injuries.

The first one, I threw my back out while doing a squat.  I knew the moment it happened and immediately stopped my workout.  By 4 PM that Friday afternoon, I could barely stand and left work early. I spent the next day and a half laid up, on Vicodin and  barely able to move.  I had to miss my nephews play that he was in and I was beginning to get really discouraged.

You see, my friend Carollyn has been plagued with a bad back.  SO much so that she has spent weeks unable to stand for more than 15-20 minutes at a time, on a GOOD day!  I didn’t know exactly what I did to my back that morning, but if this was a permanent injury, I don’t know what I would have done.

I have come to LOVE working out.  I whine about the muscle soreness after a good hard workout but really I am bragging that I worked hard enough to produce that feeling!

What if I could never work out to that level again?  What if I seriously hurt myself?  What if I couldn’t stand up for more than a few minutes at a time…for the rest of my life?

Saturday night, I decided, that no matter what, I would go to church on Sunday and have them pray for me for healing.  My church friends believe God heals today, not just 2000 years ago.

I showed up at church and because I was slow-moving, was really late and I ended up parking as far away from the front doors as you could get.  Normally a 2 minute walk in, took about 10 minutes.

After the message, my friend Robin came over to me and offered to pray.  She did, then she insisted I go and have Nate pray for me too.  I stood up and shuffled over to him and he called his 2 oldest children over.  You see, our church doesn’t think that the kids should be excluded from seeing God do really cool stuff.  So they began to pray…and after about 10 minutes they ended and Nate asked if I felt any different.

Not really, but the fact that I have been standing this long is kind of a miracle!

As we ended service, I had to go to my car to get something I left out there and as I walked out there, I realized for the first time in 2 days, I was standing up straight…and while the muscles all up and down my back were incredibly tense, the pain was mostly gone.  I walked at a normal pace to my car and back and continued to stand around talking to people for a while longer.  I then went out with friends to lunch and then to watch some Detroit Lions Football.  I soon became convinced that prayer, really does work and that once I laid down and went to sleep that night and my muscles were able to fully relax, that I would wake up in the morning, perfectly fine…

and that is what happened!

God does heal today!  I don’t know how or why He chooses to do what He does or when, but I am grateful for it!

What did I learn besides this?  It is important to NEVER sacrifice form for speed in a workout.  Better to do it right than to do it fast.

 

Leave a Reply

