Looking Ahead

I am ending Day 5, grain and sugar-free and rather pleased with myself and noticing, I don’t feel like anything is missing.

Sure, it is more difficult to choose things and requires more awareness of what things are made of when out and about, but really so far grain free has not been the kind of difficult I expected.

I expected crazy cravings.  I expected to crash and burn a lot in the first few days.  I expected to whine and cry and miss things like rice and pasta and the occasional sweet treat.

Besides all of what I expected not being there, there is also what is present that I didn’t expect.  I didn’t expect to feel so good.  I didn’t expect the peace I had going into this to remain so constant and I honestly didn’t expect to succeed.

Today I enjoyed a most scrumptious treat.  Grilled peaches with a drizzle of honey.  Who knew this would be so delicious??

Grilled Peaches with a drizzle of honey

I began to look ahead though and think about what is coming.  I probably shouldn’t but I don’t want to start buying things that I am just gonna have to get rid of later when Daniel adds the next change on.  So I looked at the Paleo food list online. I am super glad that Daniel is walking me through this step by step.  That honey I just ate?  Will eventually go away, although, I suppose I could make an exception for raw honey on occasion.   Those olives I ate yesterday…umm yep no more olives.  Not that I EVER eat olives, but still.  If I were full on Paleo, several things I ate in the last 5 days would not be on track.

So I am looking ahead at what is to come and mentally preparing for it and enjoying the transition as I go.

One other thing I am noticing is how much freedom I am finding in this method.  I was nervous when he said I wouldn’t be counting calories.  For three years that is how I have measured and quantified what I ate.  But this new plan is not about that and I was afraid that I would find myself overeating all the time.  I am pleased to notice that I am not.  I never eat till I am stuffed.  I think that because I have such a history with calorie counting I already know without thinking what is an appropriate amount of food or not.

I am liking this method so far.  Looking forward to learning more.

4 thoughts on “Looking Ahead

  1. I’m enjoying reading about your new way of eating! Especially because coincidentally, my trainer is encouraging me to make the same transition to paleo and I’ve just decided to go ahead and try it. It should be an interesting adventure.

  2. When I went Paleo I was SHOCKED at how satisfied I was all the time. Aside from sugar cravings for the first 1-2 days, I hardly ever felt like I was missing anything. I’m so glad it’s going well for you!

    • I am grateful I have not had any crazy sugar cravings as of yet. In fact I am actually experiencing more energy. Wierd. I defintely get hungry and it seems more frequently, but I am also satisfied pretty quickly.

      So far I am liking this. Not looking forward to having to give up cheese though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

