Final Preparations And Catch Up

I realize it has been a bit since I have last written.  It is not for lack of things to say, that is for sure, but rather, an exercise in wisdom and in biting my tongue.   Yes, friends and readers, the relationship struggle continues and I have some decisions to make and I am procrastinating that.  I figure I will at least get through Nashville without that piece weighing too heavily on my brain.

Speaking of Nashville!  OH MY WORD!  I have much to do before I sleep, much to do before I sleep!

I made the spaghetti tonight for our pre-race pasta dinner on Friday night.  Tomorrow night is laundry and packing and listing (yes I am making up words….and lists), and organizing.  I have this great fear that I will forget something crazy important like my running shoes or my running capris!

All I know for certain is that when I lay my head down tomorrow night, my car will be packed with everything except the frozen spaghetti sauce which will go in the cooler on Wednesday morning.  When I leave work Wednesday night, I will not be going back home but rather to the greatest place on earth, GR, to meet up with everybody for a Thursday travel day.

So how do I feel?  Way under trained.  I don’t feel ready.  I am super nervous about the distance. I am excited to be with my friends. I have a mental confidence that I can do this, despite my feelings because I have done it before…but it might be painful…painful…don’t forget the mega dose of ibuprofen…(see I am listing).  I am afraid I will forget something.  I am grateful.  Aaron has said he would meet me at mile 8 and run the rest of the way with me…perhaps his fiancée Erin will join him on that run!  I am excited to see my cousins (oh don’t forget to pick up something for the kiddos-more listing and multi-tasking:-) and to be able to celebrate my cousin Elizabeth’s first ever Half Marathon.

I feel honored.  This years run is about more than just me doing what I once thought was impossible.  I continue to be honored and blessed that I get to be part of the ELIM Race Team (http://www.elimretreats.org/race.php) So far, I have raised just over half of my own personal goal. At the last reporting, I am at $550.00 raised and counting. My personal goal is to raise $1000.00 for this cause and sponsor 3 people to attend an ELIM retreat where individuals in full-time ministry will have an opportunity to step out of their roles as ministers and rest and simply BE. In simply BEING, it is my hope and prayer that they will each hear God’s voice and call on their lives in fresh new ways and that they will go back to their work refreshed and revived.

If you would like to consider giving, all donations are tax-deductible. Go to this site http://www.elimretreats.org/race.php (my links are not working and really driving me nuts) to find out more about the ministry. You can also read more about how I came to be involved with ELIM in my first blog post announcing my Team Member status. https://road2beautiful.wordpress.com/2011/03/20/run-for-their-lives/

I am not sure if I will have a chance to blog again before the race, but rest assured a lengthy post race report will be coming…

3 thoughts on “Final Preparations And Catch Up

Leave a Reply

