Warrior In Training

I don’t know if I have written about this race that I have signed up for or not, but it is called the Warrior Dash!

It is a 3.3 mile run with all sorts of obstacles mixed in.  At some point I will have to climb a cargo net, leap over fire, crawl through mud, haul my butt over a wall…and all sorts of other things.

I found it online and apparently, it was I that got a few others to do it with me.  SO good or bad, it is my fault we are doing this run.

So a couple of weekends ago, a few of us were able to get together for a “training” run. Our plan was to go to the park where there is a fitness trail.  We would take pictures of the fitness stations and figure out how we can incorporate them into our runs to simulate some of the obstacles we may encounter during the actual race.

Since none of us REALLY know what to expect, this is mostly for fun.

At some point we made it to the kiddie playground and discovered that they have a cargo net type climbing thing.  We decided to kick the kids off (not really) and climb around.

Here is what I discovered as I climbed.

I am terrified of heights.

I remember my high ropes experience 2 years ago…it was terrifying.

THIS RUN IS GOING TO BE CRAZY…

and I waaayyyyy underestimated the physical strength it is going to take to do some of these obstacles.  Demond really and truly may have to be behind my pushing my butt up and over things!  He thinks I am kidding, but I am not!

Regardless, it is going to be fun.  Scary.  But fun.  I will have earned my Warrior Medal and my Warrior Helmet!

Sharon and I climbing, I am smiling, but I have a death grip on that structure!

 

 

My favorite training obstacle of the day! I could DO this one...it came at the top of a very big hill...:-)

No matter what though, on July 31st,  I will be with some new friends, making great memories and creating some great blog fodder for that book Coach thinks I am writing one day!

 

One thought on “Warrior In Training

  1. I think you are going to do GREAT, and it’s such a FUN and new way to challenge yourself physically. I can’t wait to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

