So She Can Be Healthy

This past weekend was my 2nd and final Sprint Triathlon of the 2010 season.  It was wonderful and awful all at the same time.   I am beginning to think that is just the way of a tri.

I finished in 2:37:22.  It took me longer to do this swim than it did Bostwick Lake, and it was shorter.  So not good.  But, I finished and I am super excited about that.

I don’t have a super long and detailed moment by moment replay post planned, but I do want to share one significant story.

I realize in hindsight that while limiting my water intake to limit the possibility of having to stop and pee mid race again, I may have shot myself in the foot and dehydrated myself.  My legs began cramping up in the water, almost from the first kick.  I headed out on the bike and my calves and quads were all cramped up and then my feet fell asleep in the pedals.  I came back, already unsure of being able to do the run, but Coach assured me that my feet would wake up and to just get moving.

I began running and quickly had to walk a bit.  I alternated running and walking trying to get the cramps out of my calves and hamstrings and even my BUTT!!!  I wasn’t even a mile in and this run was already very reminiscent of the 25K attempt a few months ago.

The only great thing was that this run was mostly trails, which of course I love.  As I was about 1.25 miles into the run, I was walking up a hill, stretching and questioning what the heck I was doing out here.  Seriously.  Why do I do this to myself?

At the top of the hill a little girl and her dad stood by waiting for someone (mommy) to come by.  The little girl saw me coming and she started clapping and shouting.

“Come on, don’t give up now!!!  You can do this!  Lookin’ strong!  You got this thing!”

OK, this little girl is MAX 5 yrs old.  Where does she learn to lie to a struggling athlete so well already as she cheers us on!? (did I just call myself an athlete?hahaha!)

I looked at her dad and just shook my head, “I don’t know why I do this to myself”, I said.

He responded, “I ask my wife the same thing all the time, “why do you do this to yourself?”

I passed them by, walking and praying the leg cramps would go away when the little girl piped up.

“I know why daddy!  So she can be healthy!”

Thank you very much you wise child, I will be running now…

So I can be healthy!

I ran.

and when I wanted to stop I heard her voice continuing to cheer me on….

“COME ON NOW!

YOU CAN DO THIS!

YOU GOT THIS!

YOU ARE ALMOST THERE!

but mostly I heard…

so you can be healthy….

4 thoughts on “So She Can Be Healthy

Leave a Reply

