No Regrets

In less than 10 days, I will be running my first ever half-marathon in Nashville.

Yesterday, I did my final long run before the race and am officially in “taper” time. I think “taper” time is my favorite time so far. I get to take it easy with short (relatively), easy runs. I will not run more than 5 miles in a given run this week and next week I will run less than 3 in a given run.

I have put in my time. I have done the work. I have logged the miles. Now, I just need to trust the training plan and my body to do what it has trained to do.

With that said, I am quite excited that in my final long run of 10 miles yesterday, I clocked a 16:85 min pace. For you crazy runners, that seems crazy slow. Call it what you want, but I am excited that I managed to sustain my slowest 5K time over 10 miles.

So I was talking to G.I. Jess about the race tonight and my time and what I hoped to finish in. I told her that I for sure thought I could finish in under 4 hours, thinking MAYBE 3:45. I promised her that when I was done, there would be nothing left in me. Everything I had would have been left on the race course. She suggested that I could do the whole thing in 3:35. I think she is crazy! Coach is crazy too, cuz he agrees with her!

She challenged my thinking on what giving my best looks like and what that translates to in time. I kept thinking in my head…but I just want to finish alive. She insisted that with all the hype and adrenaline and crowds and excitement of race day, I could definitely rock this thing out in 3:35. Essentially, as I have thought about her words, she was basically saying, what is the measurable result of “leaving everything I have on the race course”. A time goal. Whether I make it or not, doesn’t matter, really. What matters is did I set myself up with a measurable way of knowing whether I gave it my all or not. Did I set a specific goal and go for it and WIN or fail magnificently in my efforts. Either way, I win.

So, I thought about it and I am not only accepting her challenge, but I am raising the bar on myself.

3:30 is my goal time.

Yes, that is 5 minutes less than Jess’s expectation and hope for me. But here is my thought. My theory is that Jess is trying to stretch me out of my comfort zone. Taking 10 minutes off my expected time is HUGE for me. However, I kinda think that she thinks I can do even better that 3:35, but perhaps knows if she pushes for too much, I might see it as impossible and not even shoot for it. I don’t know that she thinks this…but I am thinking along the lines of reverse psychology practices, you know. So I figure, it is time I raise my own bar. If she thinks, with all my training I can easily pull off a 3:35. I shooting for better than that.

Leaving it ALL on the race course.

Nothing left to give.

No regrets.

I got this.

14 thoughts on “No Regrets

  1. That is awesome Kim. I am hoping I can be there to help u celebrate your success…u can do this:) I am proud to call u my friend.

  2. WOW! I’m so proud of you. Way to challenge yourself! I can’t wait to hear all about the race afterwards…I know you’ll give it all you have. You always do!

  3. Kim,
    As you are going for your ultimate goal on the race course, I am too. A little different course-mine is a bicycle path of adventures. It looks like HWI will sign a lease for space this week or next. What a scarry move. But when God asks, he only asks if we will trust and be obedient. He does not mock His children!
    Run for the KING!

  4. Go Kim! Inspiring! So I signed up to run a 5K on June 27th. That in itself makes me shake in my pants. lol! I totally admire you for doing a half marathon!

    • My first 5K last AUgust had me shaking in my boots…you will be able to do it and then you will move on to more…it is kinda addictive!

  5. Kim:

    I’m pretty sure Tennessee is not going to see you coming. Congratulations on a thoughtful, unfiltered blog. I will stop by again.
    Peace,
    Bob

  6. “I firmly believe that any man’s finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle – victorious.”
    Vince Lombardi

Leave a Reply

