Random Update

I gained this week.  I am now sitting at 294.4…again.  Disappointing, for sure.  I just keep reminding myself that I am doing the things that someone who is living and breathing a healthy lifestyle does.  I work at my calorie counting.  My biggest mistake is coming in under calories too often.  I work at my exercise plan and now that the Road to Nashville has begun, I am even more serious about it.  I work at feeling everything and not denying/rationalizing/justifying/defending my feelings.  Despite knowing this, yes the gain is still disappointing, frustrating, unexplainable…especially since a random weight check on Sunday had me at 290.2 and my official weigh in came on Tuesday.  SO I continue to remind myself always of the Truth that the measure of healthy is NOT just the number on the scale.

The first week of full on Half-Marathon training, aka, The Road to Nashville, has begun.  Last Saturday I ran 6 miles of hills.  Sunday I ran 4 more miles on my trails.  Tuesday I did my 2 miles plus my AI’s(aerobic intervals) and this morning I finally managed to run before work.  I got a wake up call at 4:45AM and headed out for a 4 mile run.  This turned into a 2 mile run/walk due to black ice.  So I will complete the remaining 2 miles plus my GP’s tonight after work.

The search for a trainer, at an affordable price, is on.  Sadly, my gym is not being cooperative.  I have had the same conversation 3 times with one of the owners about having a trainer call me to set up a time to meet and about my goals.  I would like to believe that he is just absent-minded and forgets or loses the paperwork I have filled out 3 times.  I don’t want to believe that he looks at me and doesn’t believe I am serious.  If only he knew…  So regardless of what is happening there, I am also looking outside of my gym at other options.  Whoever I get though has to be able to incorporate and work with my running schedule and eventually help me train well for the sprint triathlons.

My Dr.’s office called.  No insulin resistance or thyroid issues to be had.  That is great news.  However, apparently my cholesterol is slightly high and needs to be re-checked in 3 months.  Not high enough to warrant medication, but enough to warrant some monitoring.  I am not worried though, I am eating pretty healthy these days with exception to my random and infrequent failures at resisting fried chicken!

I think that is enough randomosity for this morning.  I have 10 minutes to leave for work and despite being up for 3 hours already, I have not dried my hair,packed my lunch or gotten dressed!  HA!!!  Oh my priorities suck some mornings!  HAHAH

5 thoughts on “Random Update

  1. The fried chicken issue probably is not helped by the fact that you work right by a KFC. Man, you can smell that stuff for miles. 🙂

    Have you ever thought about adding weight training to your mix? I think it would help with you. I know it takes some time to get used to….but muscle burns fat, so as you are building that you will help rev up your metabolism, and lose more too. Working my butt off on Cardio was not helping me lose weight AT ALL. Then I started doing a heavy lifting program and the weight, and more importantly inches started falling off!

    • Oh My Melissa…I freaked for a 2nd when I read this on my phone…wasn’t sure who it was from at first and could not remember ever writing about working next to KFC…although I am sure I told Coach and Aaron…anyway…yes….that is an awful temptation…but so far…since October, when I started there, I have NEVER gone into THAT KFC. 🙂

      Yes, weight training is going to be included in the mix…just not sure what to do. I am supposed to be getting a free training session at my gym…but that is all part of the repeat conversation with them I have been having.

  2. GREAT JOB with your running training! And awesome news that you don’t have any serious health issues standing in your way. Keep it up, and eat some snacks while you’re at work to up your calories! Nuts are a great way to consume easy calories, fiber, and healthy fat.

    And AMEN! to adding weight training to your routine. I’m a preacher of weight training so I’ll leave it at that so as not to annoy everyone. 🙂

  3. I third the weight training idea. Also, all trainers are not created equal, so you feel like the trainer they assign you isn’t the right one for you, try another! I had to go through a couple to find one that heard what I was saying and devised a plan to focus on my personal needs. Sometimes the trainers also teach group classes, this might be a good way to get a feel for each trainer’s personality without spending money on a personal training session. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

