Perfect 10 Challenge Update #6 And The Dr. Report

Well, here is my latest update!

  • 1800 calories a day (unless my Dr. changes this for me in February)- Partial success, except for the weekend and today!
  • Exercise daily, yes 7 days a week.  2 days can be really light, like an easy walk.  The focus for this next 10 weeks is the half marathon training.-Failure
  • Burn 600 calories a day from exercise, based on the HRM readouts-Failure
  • Drink 150 oz of water a day-might have to build my bladder back up to this one- Decently done, it remains to be tougher when I am on the teller line, but I am getting better.
  • Acknowledge God and His place in my life in some deliberate fashion daily.  i.e pray, praise, worship, testify!-Yowza’s, mega fail on this one this week!
  • Log my calories daily-except for the weekend, no problem
  •  

    I went to the Dr. this week as scheduled for the routine exam and to review my plan with her and to see what her recommendations are for going forward.  Here are the results.

    1.  I discovered a new high weight for me.  I did not realize that in 2006 I weighed 368!  Yikes!!

    2.  She was quite impressed that I am running and is very pleased with my losses so far

    3.  The extended plateau could be something as simple as the fact that I do primarily cardio these days and need to mix in weights.  She recommended getting a trainer.  (wonder if insurance will cover that?)
    On the more complicated side, it could be thyroid issues or insulin resistance issues(prediabetic), both of which will be determined by the blood work she had done and both of which will be resolved with medication, if necessary.  I do not like this idea.  I have been somewhat pleased and grateful that thus far in my life, I have managed to NOT have to be on medications for things related to my weight nor have I suffered any physical disabilities due to my weight.  Regardless, I am not going to stress about this until I know for sure.  In the meantime, I am looking into training possibilities!

    4.  She thinks 1800 calories is not an issue and should not be messed with at this point.

    I was never so excited to go to a Dr before!  I continue to be excited and I will do what it takes to take care of myself, even take meds if necessary (grumble grumble snarl snarl). 

    Oh the best part, she sees no reason why I can’t do the half marathon!  She thought it kind of ridiculous in fact that I would ask her AFTER I started running whether I should run or not.  HAHA, I guess it is ridiculous!

    That is all for now, boring post, but necessary.  More news to come soon!

    2 thoughts on “Perfect 10 Challenge Update #6 And The Dr. Report

    1. Hey Kim!
      I’m not a trainer or a doctor, but I’m liking your doctor’s suggestion of adding weights to your regimen. It’s my understanding that for every pound of muscle a person adds to their frame, they burn an extra 50 calories per day. I experienced that at the height of my training when I needed to consume roughly 3000 calories per day just to maintain my weight. I’m a firm believer in using both weights and cardio to get and stay fit. Very proud of you for diligently tracking your progress and being brutally honest about how things are progressing. Cheering you on! Lotsa love,
      Larry Boy

    Leave a Reply

    