Nashville! Here I Come!

Well, it is official.  I am officially signed up for the Nashville Half Marathon.  I have paid my money, now it is time to get serious and pay the time on my feet and in my running shoes to make sure that I am ready to finish strong by April 24th.

http://www.google.com/calendar/embed?src=76ec7p2b8q26391q19oskq10ek%40group.calendar.google.com&ctz=America/New_York

You can view my training schedule here! (let me know if you can’t)

There is something that happens when I pay for a race that suddenly, my heart starts to pound, I doubt my ability to do it, and I get really serious about making sure I can!  This will be the biggest thing I have done in the physical realm yet.

On the flip side of being scared out of my mind and all the doubts and fears that have kicked in, I was having a chat conversation with Coach the other night and he paid me what I consider a high compliment AND one that is contrary to how I often think of myself.

He said this. “When I need a picture of tenacity, I think of you.”

According to freedicionary.com, tenacity means: persistent determination.   The quality of being determined to do or achieve something; firmness of purpose;

I often think of myself as stubborn and unyielding.  Tenacious sounds better.  It is the positive spin on part of who I am. I like it.  South Beach Steve posted a video a few months back on the word of the day on tenacious/tenacity.  I remember watching that video and thinking, “I want to be that!”

So it meant a lot that Coach, thinks of me that way.  It stopped me in my tracks and as I lay there, trying to fall asleep, I couldn’t stop thinking about it.

Thanks Coach!  It was good to hear those words at that particular time, as I get ready to run this next leg of my journey on this Road to Beautiful.

2 thoughts on “Nashville! Here I Come!

  1. Oh my goodness, that is so exciting! Congratulations on registering and getting started. I haven’t looked at your training calendar yet but good for you for starting now and getting serious about it.

    I’m glad your doc’s appointment went well and you at least have some action items to work on. I can tell you from personal experience that weight training could make an ENORMOUS difference for you – it did for me!

Leave a Reply

