Sasha Fierce Rides Again…

For those of you that have been around a while, you have all met Sasha Fierce.  Perhaps you have even read of some of our escapades together.  It has been a long time since I have been able to do much more than look at Sasha Fierce with longing to be flying down trails with the wind whipping through my helmet.  I live in Michigan.  It is cold and snowy here, in case you didn’t know.

This past week, however, has been unseasonable warm.  You from other parts of the world, might not consider 40 degrees warm, but here, in January, coats and scarves come off and we all walk around in just sweatshirts.  My plan today for exercise was a long run of 6 miles.  However, I stepped outside into the warm-ish air, felt the light mist of rain and walked back in the house.  I headed for Sasha Fierce and told her…”today, my friend, we ride!”

The question though was how far can I ride?  Last fall I could ride 24 miles.  I haven’t exactly been riding since fall though.  Not to mention, I really needed to run.  I got that half-marathon coming up, you know.

I decided after much hesitation to attempt a ride to a local park (about 12 miles) where I would lock up my bike and with any luck be able to run 3-4 miles, then ride home.   I had no idea if I could do this.  Never did it before. Ever.  Doubts started to creep in, but I tossed them aside knowing I could always call for a ride.

I packed my fanny pack with my phone and other biking essentials, like extra gloves and my id and my ipod.  Pumped up Sasha’s tired, told mom my route and headed out.

My legs, particularly my calves, were not happy with me.  I think mainly because I ran up and down bleachers yesterday while waiting for my niece to finish her ice skating lessons, knowing I didn’t have time to work out this day.  They complained the first 5 miles or so, then seemed to settle down.

Unfortunately, another 2 miles into the ride, I hit a slushy/icy bit and for the next 2 miles had to walk my bike. Amazing.  Sasha does not like to stay upright in this mess.  Imagine, if you will, walking with a 3 yr old, holding their hand while they throw a temper tantrum.  You know how you end up half dragging them to wherever you are trying to go?  That was me with Sasha today.

By the time I got to the 10 or 11 mile mark,the path started clearing up, but it was now 5 pm.  Dark was setting in.  I knew I could not make it home before dark and going forward with conditions as they were was not an option.  I called for a ride and headed into Wal-Mart to buy groceries for the week while I waited.

No run, but I did burn 800+ calories on that bike ride/walk!  Woot!!

Snow and slush covered...but she ishappy to be ridden again!

3 thoughts on “Sasha Fierce Rides Again…

Leave a Reply

