Perfect 10 Update #3

  • 1800 calories a day (unless my Dr. changes this for me in February) This has actually been a challenge.  I have actually been under calories again this week and not for lack of trying.  Aaron got to see it first hand this weekend.  Last night I went over by 150, darn cannoli! and tonight, despite a potential calorie crisis and to the best of my knowledge I came in at about 2000.  I will write about the calorie crisis later, but trust me, coming in only 200 over was a feat!
  • Exercise daily, yes 7 days a week. 2 days can be really light, like an easy walk. The focus for this next 10 weeks is the half marathon training. Nope, did not do this.  For most of the week I was still recovering from my cold and yesterday and today I had some prior commitments.  This is proving tougher than I thought.  Either i am going to have to reduce this to 5 days a week or learn to tolerate early mornings enough to get it in before work.
  • Burn 600 calories a day from exercise, based on the HRM readouts Ahem….read above
  • Drink 150 oz of water a day-might have to build my bladder back up to this oneI have been so good with this.  Only 2 days did I fall short of this and only by 32 oz one day.  The other day I was short by 54.  My bladder has gotten used to this for the most part.
  • Acknowledge God and His place in my life in some deliberate fashion daily. i.e pray, praise, worship, testify!It is amazing how present I am to Him these last couple of weeks.  Nothing big or huge, just a greater consciousness and awareness.
  • Log my calories daily I am doing great with this so far.

Results of all of this?  Down 4.1 this week!  If I can pull out a loss 3 weeks in a row then for sure I gotta be out of this gain/lose slump!

Now for something new about me…I used to love canned spinach as a kid.  I think I may have been the only one of us kids to like it.  I would eat a whole can of it!  Now, I think it is the most disgusting thing ever!  It is slimy and salty and gross!!  Fresh spinach though, I love!

27 thoughts on “Perfect 10 Update #3

  1. Get well soon from the cold. I knwo your body doesn’t feel like exercising when it’s a little groggy from illness, but sometimes a walk can help. A bit of fresh air and some sun can make all the difference and help you recover quicker. Finding the sun is the hard part at this time of year though.

    With regards to teh water part, 150 oz. of water is quite a lot. Actually, no quite about it, it’s about 2 and a half times what is usually recommended. Anything over 100 oz. is very good going so keep that up.

    • I am almost fully recovered now….just the annoying “after coughs” left…getting back at it! I live in Michigan….sun in winter??? What is that??

      I have heard/read that half your body weight is a good measuring stick on how much water you should be drinking…:-) Yes it is a lot…but after the first 2 days my body is used to it and actually feels it when I miss it! Although, I do hate getting up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom….so annoying!!

    • Thank you!! Most of them come from my “people” whom I love. Keep reading or read back a bit and you will read more stuff Coach and Aaron say to me all the time.

  2. Wow..thats an amazing loss! As for canned spinach, never had it, but the idea of it is disgusting to me. The only canned veggies I can eat are corn and green beans.

    Congrats again!

    • Thanks Steve! It is gross…don’t bother…especially when you can make fresh just as quickly as the canned…and it is better for you!! I like canned green beans over fresh…can’t do fresh…the squeak on my teeth!!

  3. Boy I can sure relate to not being able to fit in your workouts. I hope that cold is gone for good now!

    CONGRATS on another huge loss! WOW, I’d say you’re for sure outta that slump! Great trend 🙂

      • I don’t think I’ll always keep up this level of commitment, at least not in terms of time! I basically treat this like a part-time job, since I need to do that for now in order to develop really good habits that will last a lifetime. I’m also blessed that I have a very supportive husband who doesn’t mind if I don’t make it home until 8pm (work to gym and THEN home, or it ain’t gonna happen!) and/or if I am on the computer for an hour every morning/evening/weekend day. It’s a lot of work, though, so I know at some point I will taper off the amount that I write and figure out a new level of commitment in blogland that continues to work to hold me accountable and keep me focused.

  4. Awesome weight loss. he spinach in my house was frozen and creamed and boiled in it’s plastic bag once a week. I don’t even want to think about what we probably ingested from all that boiled plastic… ech. I don’t think I even saw fresh spinach until I was in my 20’s.

  5. I was a kid who loved spinach too and I’m pretty sure it had to be canned because I don’t remember eating many fresh veggies when I was growing up. Congrats on that nice scale drop!

Leave a Reply

