Unintentionally Double Teamed

Aaron posted this quote on FB today.  It got to me, as I was in the midst of trying to write (at least in my head at this point) my perfect 2010 plan.

“Continuous improvement is better than delayed perfection” ~ Mark Twain

He continued with this thought on it.

How often I choose to not move because I can’t do something perfectly…choosing to continue going again and again and failing magnificently along the way. -Aaron

Like I said, it got me.  It reflects where I have been this past month.

Our friend Scottie(yep, another good one!) later commented  with this.

I so relate, just read this convicting quote from the book Art and Fear….
“To require perfection is to invite paralysis. The pattern is predictable: as you see error in what you have done, you steer your work toward what you imagine you can do perfectly. You cling ever more tightly to what you already know you can do – away from risk and exploration, and possibly further from the work of your heart. You find reasons to procrastinate, since to not work is to not make mistakes.”

And there lies the magnificent double teamwork of Scottie and Aaron.   My plan is not perfect.  I will NEVER be able to execute it perfectly.  However, if I don’t even try then I might as well die.  For real.  Because what is the sense in living curled up in a fetal position afraid to move?  I want to live more than I don’t want to fail.  So, fail I will.  All the way to success.  Just. Like. Thomas Edison.

Stay tuned.  The plan is coming.  sheesh, with all this build up to the plan, I better make sure it is perf…..

Leave a Reply

