Going Big or Going Home

I was trying to prioritize which posts to write and in which order and since the Turkey Trot is in 4 days, I figured that one should be written first so that the Post Race report is all in perspective, right!  (Even though I REALLY want to write about my artichoke experience!)

So here it is, 4 days before my first ever 10K and I have yet to run 6.2 miles straight.  In fact my longest KNOWN distance thus far has been 4 miles, done today in fact.  I say KNOWN because as you know I did go running one day for an hour and a half straight once, but I have no idea how FAR I ran.

Today it took me 65 minutes to run 4 miles.  This is good.  It means my speed is improving.  Slightly.  The work I have been doing at the gym to improve my speed (speed sprints on the treadmill) and my running class have taken almost a minute off my time.

I have 2 things that make me super nervous about the race.

1.  Can I do the distance?  If I have a good run day like today, I feel like I can.  Today I felt strong.  However, all last week, my runs totally sucked.  They were awful and every time I ran I questioned what I was doing to myself.  Is this worth it?  Should I just suck it up and go down to the 5K run instead of the 10k.  But the mere thought of that sent serious disappointment coursing through my body.  I have been really wanting to do this 10K for a while now.  The thought of not doing it was incredibly disappointing and felt like I would be letting myself down in a huge way if I didn’t even attempt to do more than I have ever done before.

2.  Can I do it in the required time?  This is a timed race.  The race starts at 8 AM and all racers must be off the course by 9:45 or they will be pulled off because the parade, which is televised, must go on!  While my time improvement in my running is good overall, I need to be able to run 6.2 miles at a 14.51 pace.  If you do the math I am currently at a 16.25 pace.  With that said, taking nearly 2 minutes off my time is going to be tough if not impossible to do and I will likely be pulled from the course, not knowing if I could have finished or not.

THAT, my friends, will be disappointing, but not nearly as much as never going for it at all.  I know this.

Some things I am hoping for/looking forward to in this, despite my keyed up nerves is this.

One of my best friends, Jen, is running with me.   We are going big together!  Thankfully, she is being completely out of character for her and is completely calm, which gives me room to freak out!

My cousin Thomas, who has run a half-marathon before, is up from TN and is running with us as well.

I am hoping that Thomas will be a stand-in “Coach” who will be able to pace and motivate me (and Jen) all the way to the finish, in the time allowed.  At least that is what the competitor in me wants.  I should probably let Thomas know that I might need him in this way.  My normal “Coach” knows this about me and just steps in.  Thomas however, is new to my family and this will be my 4th time seeing him EVER!  He doesn’t know me quite so well.

Mostly though, I hope that the three of us have FUN doing something that is “more living and less dying!”

 

6 thoughts on “Going Big or Going Home

  1. Kim, I commend you for stepping out and doing this. I bet the adrenaline rush you get that day will push you right through to the end. Although, I agree, you might want to let your cousin know his role ahead of time. 🙂

  2. Wow, I can see why the hesitation. I didn’t know that some races were timed and if you weren’t done, too bad. It only makes sense I suppose, but still. I am glad to hear that you’re going for it. Even if the unthinkable happens and you do get pulled before “finishing”, just remember how far you have come and like you said at least you are LIVING! Have fun and I can’t wait to hear how it all goes!

Leave a Reply

