The Job

This past week, I started working again for the first time in a year and a half.  I can hardly believe it has been that long and yet I can.  Now that I see how challenging it is to balance work and life and exercise and meal planning and the unexpected…I am grateful for the last year and a half.  I am realizing it has given me time to establish  routine, to figure out what works for me, what I like and all that…but more than that, it has given me time to get totally sold on my commitment.

Let me explain.

Last September when I started the weight loss thing (again) at the same time as Retelling, I was not sure exactly of what my plan was except to try again.  In fact I didn’t have a plan.  My plan has evolved over time as I have walked things out.  Even now, it is a flexible plan as it changes all the time based on what is working or not working.  I am convinced if I had to be working full-time back then as I was establishing all of this for myself, I would not be where I am today.  Instead I had this whole last year to really get clear on my commitment for lifelong change, and health.  I am in this for the long haul.  I might fall down, but I will not stay down.  When I eat poorly or have a curveball thrown at me I recover so much faster than before.  This time is different!

Oh wait, this post is supposed to be about my job!  I am loving my job!  It is a great company with great people who all love their jobs!  I am quite excited to get done with training and get to my branch and start meeting my co-workers and members.

Oh, I should say, I am working for a credit union doing sales/service work.  Besides that, I guess I don’t have a ton to say about the job, other than it is a huge adjustment to my schedule.  It is 8:30 PM and I cannot wait until I can go to bed!  Then I have to make sure that my meals are planned for the next day as well as exactly what/when I will workout or else it won’t get done and I will eat crap and not work out.  Those things are not options!  Once those things are done, picking from my limited clothes and making sure they are ironed for the next day….and then I crash…which is why I have not written anything beyond a blog title each day, to remind me of things I want to write about!

So that is the job.  I am adjusting and getting used to this thing called work.  The only thing I dislike is the dag blasted alarm clock in the morning!

3 thoughts on “The Job

  1. Kim, it is hard to get back in the swing of things, but I am sure you are going to do great with it. I can only imagine how frustrating that alarm is in the morning though. I also totally understand the challenge with blogging. It is hard to fit everything in. You are blessed to be working somewhere that it sounds like you will enjoy.

    • My goodness Steve…you are FAST! I feel like I JUST hit publish on that one and started writing another one about my weigh in last week.

      Yes, I am blessed and I will adjust and I will figure out how to fit it ALL in because I am not giving anything up!

      Stay tuned for another post, coming soon!

  2. Kim, so glad to read how great the job is going. For so long I used the fact that I worked full time as an excuse to not lose weight. I’d tell myself I didn’t have time to exercise. I didn’t have time to plan meals. I didn’t have time to cut up fruits and veggies. So when I finally made the decision to do it, I told myself no more excuses, that somehow I’d find the balance to be able to do it around a full time job. Sounds like you’re finding the balance quite well! Congrats again for finding a job, and you like at that!

Leave a Reply

