Breathing Deeply(Again)

photograph by Detlev Reimann, used with permission.

photograph by Detlev Reimann, used with permission.

This picture is ironically called, Breathe Deeply.  I found it on the internet while looking for a photo to go with my last post about breathing.  I held off on using it, until I got permission from the photographer to do so.  More of this guys work can be found here.  He is an amazing photographer!

Interestingly enough, when I saw it, I was so taken by the beauty of it, I held my breathe.

Today, as I focus on taking in air, I am thinking about altitude and perspective.  Given my last few days, as things have come up, I have pressed in and only saw the fear and doubt before me.  It was big and scary and felt like too much to handle so I did the next best thing.  I took myself out of the game before it could take me out.  I wonder if things would have been different had I stopped.  Breathed.  Climbed up on a chair or something and looked around me.  Perhaps I would have seen a different picture.  Or the bigger picture.

Mountains can look big and scary and impossible to climb.  But the truth is they are not insurmountable, when you have and USE the tools given to you.

And you remember to breathe.

Inhale.

Exhale.

Inhale.

7 thoughts on “Breathing Deeply(Again)

  1. Kim- I am sitting hear at the computy basically in a tranquil awe from this post. It seized me with perspective.

    “Mountains can look big and scary and impossible to climb. But the truth is they are not insurmountable, when you have and USE the tools given to you.”

    As I reflect on my run last weekend, I see that these events are not just for the body but also for the spirit. They are not just for the T-shirt or the glory. They are for moments like the “mountains” that you speak of. the 50 miler is a tiny mountain compared to how you and I may feel at any given moment but the “tools” are the same. God, perspective, drive, courage to face failure, being humbled and humbly accepting that you can ONLY do what you can do and nothing more. As I fight to get over my life mountains, I try so hard to remember the tools but find that I forget so easily. And like the race this weekend, We find that although we are hit face to face with our own inadequecy to “finish” and utterly humbled by it, we finally rise even if only barely as victors of the mountain that faced us. Maybe even in disbelief but also overwhelmed with a sense of gratitude for having been able to meet ourselves in real time.

    Sooooo sorry if this is off the wall or wacky or not even related that much. i just read this post and this is what it conjured up inside of me. Thanks for this post. I feel like I am back to reality somehow. HAHAHAHA

  2. This is beautiful Kim… this post… your writing… your attitude… keep up the awesome work. We miss you.

Leave a Reply

