All The Elements

My friend and filmmaker, ABS, is in my opinion, a deep deep soul.  His thoughts are far more profound than anything I would ever think to think of.  When I hear some of the things he says, reads or watches, I am usually moved in some way.  I may have to stop and think for a minute or 5…or more.

This week on facebook he is very frequently updating his status with quotes from a man named Kahlil Gibran.  I do not know Mr. Gibran’s story or why he says the things he does, but I know that I have done much pausing to think this week.  At times, my very  breath has been taken away as I ponder the significance of the words.

Here is one quote ABS posted today that in many ways relates to my journey here on earth.  How I think and feel and the war inside me at times. 

“Your soul is oftentimes a battlefield, upon which your reason and your judgment wage war against passion and your appetite. Would that I could be the peacemaker in your soul, that I might turn the discord and the rivalry of your elements into oneness and melody. But how shall I, unless you yourselves be also the peacemakers, nay, the lovers of all your elements?”- Kahlil Gibran

My logical/analytical self is often at war with my emotional self.  I often try to denounce my logic in an effort to live fully in my emotions, often deeming my logic as “bad”.  On the flip side, when I feel crazy emotionally, I name those emotions as “bad” and then turn my logical side back on. This happens so fast in my head, you would not believe how often and how quickly it happens.   But I often find myself despising my logic as it can, at times, keep me from feeling, and my emotional side, that I am still discovering, doesn’t always lead me to rational decisions.

What a quandry. 

Reality is…neither side of me, or any other piece of who I am for that matter, is either good or bad.  They just are.  As I continue on this road towards beautiful, and whole health, I hope to come to appreciate and love more fully, all the elements of who I am and what makes me, ME!

It is neat to look back and see where I have been just in the last couple of years.  All of the discord and rivalry is slowly fading over time as I learn to love me and learn more about all the elements of me…but there are more peaceful melodies to look forward to!

8 thoughts on “All The Elements

  1. Great post. Great thoughts from your friend. I wage the same war. Daily. I know though, that thru our Heavenly Father and our Savior, They will make our weakness our greatest strenghts! thanks for the post, it made me stop and think!

  2. I’m a big fan of Gibran… The Prophet is one of those books I read every once in a while. The wisdom is just astounding.

    I can really relate to what you’re saying here… I have the same tendencies… But I’ve never quite thought of them in this way. Thanks for shining a light on my path.

  3. You’re always talking about how intelligent he is. Maybe I’m just worn out or looney from landscaping fumes, but I had to read this 3 times to get it.

    • HAHA Coach is…intelligent that is. Some of the stuff ABS posted, I literally read 50 times before I “got it”. Only had to actually ask him about one though. These 3 quotes in this post and the other were jsut ones that really spoke loudly to me and where I am at specifically…

Leave a Reply

